Notifications
Clear all

OPEN CHORD TUNING

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@lynnolive)
Topic starter  

I'm a female beginner with small hands. I'm trying open tuning but how do you finger the minor chords?

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

That's a toughie - whichever open tuning you choose, you're going to be playing at least two strings three frets up from the open chord, ie open G tuning DGDGBD - you'd have to play something like 030330 for Gm, and the same chord moved up in different positions for other minor chords. You might want to try an open minor tuning....something like DGDGBbD, that'll give you a Gm chord if you play all six strings open. To make that a G major chord, you'd have to fret the B string at the first fret....000010.

It's always worth experimenting, though, to find out which particular open tuning suits YOU!

Oh - and welcome to GN!

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@jewtemplar)
Reputable Member

In open G, you can also get Em (202002), or Dm (xx0233 or 020233). Also, I would play Gm as 000330 or x00330 rather than 030330. A little third goes a long way, and it's nice to have the root at or near the lowest note of your chord. It also makes it easier to move around. Open minor tunings are definitely not as popular as open major ones, but they seem interesting. Skip James (of Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues fame) was fond of open D minor, as was (I think) Nick Drake. Also, if you play with a slide, you can play minor chords in open G by fretting the B string one fret behind the slide. This doesn't work for everything above Abm.

~Sam

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member