Want to learn slide

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
 edub
(@edub)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I have been playing for about 6 years and am stuck. Would appreciate any good starting points on learning slide and alt tunings. Thanks.

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

I'd suggest starting with open tunings (far easier as every string's tuned into a chord at each fret so any strings that ring are harmonious) and leave the standard tuning slide to work on later as an advanced technique. It takes well developed picking finger muting skills, and it's a lot harder to play self-accompanied solo stuff in standard. Works very well for playing mostly single note solos over a band backing, when you get the muting down. Kirk Lorange has excellent lesson videos for sliding in standard tuning and Dropped D, and can play astounding solo stuff, but he's been doing it for something like 35 years. Learn the basics in Open D (or E) or Open G first.

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

slide playing really rekindled my desire with guitar playing.
pick an open tuning and stick with it for a while. open G is excellent. open D is cool too.
I like D. it sounds darker to me. sometimes I like that. I normally play open G.
there are so many resources on youtube. type slide guitar. amazing.

choose a slide. glass and metal are traditional. there is a difference in feel and tone with any material you choose.
spend time with the slide and listen. it takes a certain pressure when playing. once you get the string to sound clear
you can begin to apply subtle and not so subtle techniques. vibrato , for example.

Brads Page of Steel is an incredible source for information, history, and tunings.

oh, I tend to forget to say, because I play lap style slide, the slide can go on the finger of your choosing. whatever feels right.
it matters if you want to fret with fingers and slide too. you'll see.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552