Clear all

SSG3-Wk3

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@jpsuperstar)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

'please no graffiti' is stenciled on the side of a building i bus pass whenever i go to school. it appears remarkably effective, and poignantly dull, considering the wonderful mural on the other side of the street.

more preamble; i'm a new guitarist, but not a new writer. any tips on fitting poetry to melody, on song structure, on metre, on anything really, i would appreciate.

[drawing in fits and starts
a painting for your heart
but] it's raining hard
and my art runs away

you say, please no graffiti
i've been vandalized before
please no graffiti
you'll just be one more

painting on the floor
it's dripping up the walls
maybe i'm upside down
backwards, turned around

i'm paint proof anyway
please no graffiti
it won't survive the day

you say, don't paint yourself on me
i'm not yours i am mine
i don't want to be branded
[honey,] please no graffiti,

[you don't really want me
you don't really want me
you don't really want me
you don't really want me.]

<<edited parts in [brackets].>>

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

OK, it really is getting late....3.02 am over here.......so just a couple of quick impressions....

First verse, I'd change "outside" to "but"....the first three lines give the a false impression of a kid at a desk with crayons.....until you read the fourth line....

I'm looking at this as verse,chorus verse,chorus and then a sort of outro verse and chorus combined, maybe in a different key...

the second verse is fine, both choruses work, just that last part...perhaps if you could explain how you see it? It's not that it doesn't work, I have had a hard time fitting a rhythm to it, the fact that it's five lines long and all the other verses and choruse are four lines long is just a tad confusing....unless it's one of those songs where the 4th line rhythm is repeated and held for the fifth line for emphasis?

:) :) :)

Vic