Clear all

Mikespe

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter

Watch for him again. He posted "wasted four months" and whined about quitting. I tried to give him the cold slap approach.

You know:

You are defined by the choices you make. Quit you are a quitter, whine you are a whiner. Persevere and you are a guitarist.

Are you a quitter?

etc etc.

This of course failed miserably because mike wanted a pity party. So he asked me to delete his post.

Posted : 29/10/2005 7:46 pm
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

That apparently happened while I was posting a reply, because it wouldn't let me post it.

Here's what I typed:

I doubt Mike got to be a good teacher in 4 months, either. I know I didn't.

I read an interview with Edward van Halen about the time I started playing. He was scoffing at guys who started to play because they thought it was going to be an easy route to picking up chicks and stuff, then got disillusioned. He said that most people fail to realize it's as hard as going to school to be a lawyer or something. EVH may not be the greatest role model, but that stuck with me.

I understand the difficulty and frustration, and it can be really tough to think that after several months of working hard you don't have much to show for it. But keep plugging away and it'll get better. It's not as easy for us grownups who have other jobs and family obligations to pick it up quickly like teenagers, but on the other hand we've got maturity and patience on our side if we set a goal we want to achieve.

In my case, I pretty much entirely switched to open tuning slide guitar after 6 months or so of painfully slow progress along the "standard" guitar path. It really caught my fancy, and has always seemed a great deal more sensible to me.