Notifications
Clear all

Guitar player switching to bass

20 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@pilot)
Estimable Member

Gonna drag this thread up from the depths, since it didn't seem appropriate to start a whole new one.

Fair warning: I've had a couple of drinks tonight, and I type just as much as I talk when I've been drinking LOL :P

Since I'm a guitar-a-holic (been playing since March, already on my 3rd electric [but still my first acoustic]) and since I have three very good friends who all happen to play bass, I've thought about picking up a bass guitar myself. Having looked at some basic tabs and clunked around on my friends' axes, I think I could get a good deal of enjoyment out of learning bass along with regular 6-string.

I'm actually a drummer at heart, have played on and off for nearly 20 years now. I like to think I have a decent sense of rhythm. :) I do pretty well on a 6-string without a metronome, although I can still see the difference in my guitar playing if I have a met or my drum machine running. I'm sure I'll work that out over time. On a drum kit I can hold a beat all day long with little perceivable (sp?) variance in tempo, and I feel as though combining that skill with my new-found love for guitar would make me a decent bass player as well.

Or I could be completely mistaken. :lol:

At any rate, I have a couple of questions in the event that I do decide to do this: