Clear all

guitar to bass help

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@elpelotero)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing guitar for two years and ive reached that "next level" where the only thing separating me from better guitarists out there is just experience...i play scales well and i have a very fluid hand, can do solo stuff well. chords well..etc...
Now my friend has asked me to play bass for his band, and quite frankly i have no idea how the heck to play that thing. Those frets are huge, the the strings are even bigger, and the action is quite high compared to my guitar. lets not even start with the fingerpicking...
What tips can anyone suggest for me to make a smooth transition? Is there any bass scales out there??

I have problems adjusting to the pressure of the strings, the big frets, and the distance between strings...

Can any past guitarist who converted help me out?

Thx
Miguel

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

As far as scales are concerned, if it's a 4-string bass, then it's the same notes as the bottom 4 strings of the guitar.

But an octave lower.

If you've been playing with a flatpick, then you can keep on playing it that way if you like. If you want to use your fingers, normally bass players use the index and middle fingers (i m). You anchor your thumb usually on the edge of one of the pickups. If you're familiar with classical guitar technique, you would be playing what's called 'rest strokes' rather than 'free strokes.'

To get used to the bigger strings and frets and the fret spacing being wider, the best thing I can think of is to just sit with the bass unplugged and watch television and plunk away without thinking about it. You get a sort of subconscious feel for it that way. After an hour or so it'll feel a lot more comfortable.

Hope this helps, and have fun playing bass - I do!

ReplyQuote
(@4ropebottom)