Notifications
Clear all

Having a problem w/ new bass - newbie

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@rbluta)
Topic starter  

I have been playing guitar for a while, but I am new to the Bass.
I recently built a Warmoth Gecko 5-string Fretless Bass, but I am having a little problem with it.

The Low B and the G strings are quieter than the other strings. If I am playing on one of the middle three strings every thing sounds great, but if I drop down to the bottom string or hit the top string it sounds like I missed the note. It isn't mute or anything but it is definitly quieter than the other strings.

The pickups seem to be picking up OK, I have the pup height set correctly, the string height and spacing seems to be OK. But I can't figure out why those 2 strings won't pickup like the others.

Here is the info on the bass: Mahagony body w/ Maple top, maple neck w/ ebony fretboard, Seymour Duncan Steve Bailey Jazz pups w/ 3 band EQ.

Keep in mind this is my first time building a guitar, so it could be a grounding or wiring issue, but I don't know what to check next.

Thanks for your help
Randy

(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

IMO it's more likely to be the height of the pickups. Most are adjustable so you can screw them up closer to the strings for more volume.

I've never built or fixed a guitar so take this advice for what it's worth. I'm sure there are others here who know more.

--
Helgi Briem
hbriem AT gmail DOT com

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

You might send Duncan an email if you haven't already.