Notifications
Clear all

new bassist looking for tips

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@dukeulrich)
Topic starter  

hey there, im a relatively new bassist. i got a bass about a year ago for my birthday. i started playing and im in love. a good buddy of mine is really into guitar but doesn't know a whole bunch about bass. im to busy with other things to take up lessons so i just play and have taught myself almost everything i know. i would like any theory or any tips that you more experienced bassists have to offer. also my bass is pretty worn so i am thinking about upgrading. is an epiphone thunderbird reverse IV a good way to go?

(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

I'd recommend starting with "Wheat's Bass Book".

It's free and online and covers most of what a beginning or intermediate bassist needs.

I don't know that bass well enough to comment, although Epiphone makes decent products in general.

--
Helgi Briem
hbriem AT gmail DOT com

ReplyQuote
(@taylorr)
Prominent Member

Ive told you before Eric. You MUST get that bass. I love its looks. Im sure it sounds great too, better than what you have at least...

aka Izabella

ReplyQuote
(@acopfender)
Trusted Member

Hey,

I suggest you don't get an Epiphone, epiphone is ok for guitars but epiphone and gibson don't make a very good bass, i suggest you get a fender, or if you want a step down in price but still want good quality get a squire. Do what you want but in the long run a fender would work out better...

i play a fender telecaster and i need to know about effects!

ReplyQuote
(@taylorr)
Prominent Member

Are you sure man? Ive looked up reviews on many epiphone basses and most of them have been good. Mostly on this one bass, and most say its one of the best basses they have ever played.