Clear all

A Chord Trouble

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@hobozcar2000)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm very new to the guitar and I've been haveing a lot of trouble fingering the A Chord. Every time I play it the D String gets a lot of rattle because my finger is to far back on the fret. Is there any trick to this chord or something I'm doing wrong?

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

If you're using fingers 1, 2 & 3, try using fingers 2, 3 & 4 instead. Those three fingers take up a little less room, which might allow you to get closer to the fret on the D string.

ReplyQuote
(@hobozcar2000)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I've tried it using fingers 1,2,3 and 2,3,4. So far I have had the most success using finger 2 on D, 1 on G, and 3 on B but it is harder to transition to next chord.

ReplyQuote
(@cicontention)
Trusted Member

I've found the barred A to be easy. Just apply some pressure.

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

I've tried it using fingers 1,2,3 and 2,3,4. So far I have had the most success using finger 2 on D, 1 on G, and 3 on B but it is harder to transition to next chord.

Keep trying the A chord, using the fingering you mentioned above. As you get more comfrtable with it, it is easier to transition to another chord.

ReplyQuote
(@hobozcar2000)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

thanks for all the help guys.

ReplyQuote
(@the-todd)

That's what I had to do when I first started "2 on D, 1 on G, and 3 on B". Then I did 2,3,4 and now 1,2, and 3 is no problem.
It'll get easier.

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

So far I have had the most success using finger 2 on D, 1 on G, and 3 on B but it is harder to transition to next chord.
I use that same fingering on most occasions. It's not necessarily harder in transition, it depends what you're changing to. Some changes are actually easier.