Clear all

About 12 stringed acoustics...

21 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@hyunjae)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

And I'm generally of the opinion you HAVE to pick it up and play it in the store unless you are such a complete newbie that playing it would tell you nothing (ie never played a guitar, maybe just plucked the strings a time or two kind of deals).
I'd do that too... but I AM a complete newbie =x I wouldn't know a good guitar from a bad one. I'm buying this because of it's great reviews and that I needed an acoustic :?

ReplyQuote
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

So you've made up your mind? Good for you!! I know you'll have fun with it! And, like Demo said, it will open up all kinds of alternate voicings that are just way cool to mess with! It adds a whole new dimension to playing the guitar! Good luck with it and be sure to let us all know how you like it!!

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

ReplyQuote
(@hyunjae)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Well... it arrived and.. I love it... aside the fact that I'm scared to tune it. If I tune it wrong, I might mess up the neck or whatever :(

What should I do?

And I'm too lazy to snap a picture then upload... but it looks exactly like the black on here
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Rogue-Herringbone-12String-Acoustic?sku=519267 :roll:

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

It won't mess up the neck if you tune it to E standard. You could keep it lower, at D standard tuning. Just be careful when you're tuning those octave strings, and remember that the B and high E strings are tuned in unison, not octave.

Have fun with the guitar though :)

ReplyQuote
(@hyunjae)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the quick reply :o

After I tuned it.. then retuned it... then retuned it... then retuned it... it sounded great! :P