Notifications
Clear all

Bach - too much for a beginner?

15 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@chiba)
Topic starter  

Hi. I've been playing for only a few months now, and learning without a teacher (I'm in Japan, and finding an English speaking teacher hasn't worked out so far). Although I enjoy modern music, I'm more and more drawn to Baroque. I've found a few pieces that don't look technically difficult, but who am I to judge? Can anyone give me their opinion of this Bach piece?

http://sologuitarist.net/Bach_Minuet.html

Too hard for a beginner? I can play it, but very very slowly, and I'm wondering if at my level it's worth trying to get up to speed, or whether I should look at something else. I'm playing my scales and learning chords too, but I'd really like to play this piece! Someday maybe?

(@ballybiker)
Honorable Member

play it slow every day and in a few more weeks you'll have it in the bag......slowly slowly catchy monkey :lol:

what did the drummer get on his I.Q. test?....

Drool

http://www.myspace.com/ballybiker

ReplyQuote
(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

I agree. This piece isn't too difficult. The first section is often found arranged as a beginner's classical piece

The second section is a bit more difficult but not too much. And don't forget, that this is a transcription that someone has made from the original keyboard version - so you're at liberty to make any modifications that make it easier to play (within reason).

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I'd say put a little work in on the Bach piece every day and keep practising chords and scales - sounds obvious really, but all I'm really saying is don't neglect your development in all areas for one piece of music. Unlike many beginners, you at least have a fairly clear idea of your goal!

Good luck....

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member