Clear all

chord changes- are there some people who never learn

18 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@juletto)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

i have been playing for six months and my chord changes are still not very smooth any suggestions on how i can speed it up. Also how long does it usually take to be able to play chords fairly well. my teacher says that i am progressing well but i am unsure and am getting frustrated, i love to play but i am beggining to feel like i will never learn. are there some people who never learn?

(@rich_halford)
Reputable Member

I feel exactly like you do. This post does not answer your question, but at least we are no longer alone....

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I've found a couple of things that have helped me.

I decide on a chord, that i want to concentrate on - let's say "C". So what I play, then, is C, A, C, B7 (B isn't an open chord and the intention is to get chord changes right, rather than play music), C, D, C, E, C, F, C, G, C and back to A........

The other thing, is to play one chord (let's take the start of the series, I mentioned above) - C - and continue to play it, whilst at the same time picturing the next chord - A - in my mind. Only when I have the "A" firmly in my mind's eye, will I make the change. Then, do the same for going back to the "C" - get it firmly pictured in your mind's eye, before making the change.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
(@rejectedagain)
Estimable Member

exactly what greybeard said. i've been told to picture the chord in my mind, thats helped me.

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

Make the changes so very slowly that your fingers get there after your brain does.

Check out what fingers don't have to move, E to D for example. Once you have identified those fingers, don't move them.