Clear all

"Easy riffs"... not so easy

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 Ulfy
(@ulfy)
Topic starter  

Well, I've been playing for about 4 months now. I can do some chord changes relatively smoothly, but I decided to move on from chords and try some riffs to songs I actually know. So I look around for easy riffs on google. I found heaps, but, most of them are incredibly hard!

I'm not quite sure what I'm doing wrong here.

For instance, let's take this seemingly easy beginning to "Lucy in the sky with diamonds" by the Beatles. One would probably call this the easiest thing on earth to play, but my fingers just don't move fast enough and I get lost after the 3rd or 4th note.

E-------12---12---------12----10p9--R
B----10--------10----10-----------9-E
G--9-------12------11-------10------P
D-----------------------------------E
A-----------------------------------A
E-----------------------------------T

My question is, for the above example, how many fingers would you use to play this? And, would you position 3 fingers on E B and G to play the first 3 notes and then move on? I'm not quite sure of the procedure. The only riff I can actually play is the intro to "Come as you are" by Nirvana, and a 3-year old probably could do the same. :P

This is a noob question, but thanks in advance for any help. ;)

Tell him the liberator who destroyed my property has realigned my perception.

(@jase36)
Reputable Member

Im a newbie so this is how i'd do it. play in position 2nd finger plays all strings on the 9th fret, 3rd finger plays all strings on 10th fret, fourth finger plays all strings on the 11th fret and little finger plays all strings on the 12th fret. If youve only being playing chords its going to need some practice, usual thing caged scales with metronome. I think the intro to daytripper is probally an easier riff to try.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jase67electric

ReplyQuote
(@embrace_the_darkness)
Honorable Member