Clear all

F Chord Fingering

17 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@subnivean)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I just started playing guitar about a month ago - I'm taking it real slow and trying to do everything the 'right' way, so with that in mind:

I have a question about fingering the F chord. It seems like the only way to avoid hitting the 2 string with my 2 finger as it frets the 3 string is to scoot it over a bit into (or even on) the 4 string. Soundwise, this isn't a problem as the 3 finger is one fret higher on the 4 string, but it just seems wrong somehow. Is this acceptable technique? I'm playing most chords with my fingers as perpendicular to the fretboard as possible, but I just can't seem to do that with this chord, and most pictures I've seen look like other players are doing the same (ie not quite perpendicular). I'm wondering if maybe I still have to develop some calluses - the tips of my fingers have hardened up quite a bit, but they're still pretty squishy away from the tip, causing my fingertips to balloon out a bit when I'm playing this chord.

The guitar is an Ibanez SA120, in case that might have anything to do with it.

Hope this makes sense and thanks for any advice

(@fretsource)
Prominent Member

Maybe your wrist is too high. If so, try dropping it a little to make your fingers even more perpendicular.

ReplyQuote
(@subnivean)
Topic starter  

Thanks. That seems to help somewhat, at least until I try to get my 1 finger down on strings 1 and 2 - then the other two fingers 'fall down' a little and I'm muting adjacent strings. Guess I've got to keep working that 1 finger!