First months for a total beginner

15 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@kenneth-v)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello again everyone!

I now got my electric and my amp, so i'm all settled. I've received a beginner book at the store which explains very briefly how to start playing on my own...

I've also read the article of david (thx again :P ) on how to schedule your weeks of practice and set goals for the coming weeks/months...

First of all, i have a question concerning something else. I want to learn to play the electric guitar of course, but here's my situation:

From monday till sunday i'm not at home and my parents don't want to move the amp and electric down to my studio (where i stay when i'm going to college in midweek :P ) which is understandable...

So basically i'm stuck with the problem i would only be able to practice in the weekends...
However, i'm still able to get my acoustic guitar with me, but here's my question:
is there a difference if i play the chords, etc. ... for the electric guitar on my acoustic guitar? Will i practice as good as i would do these exercices on electric?

And now onto topic:

Here are my goals:

* learning chords
* switching chords
* apply on some easy songs
* learn to read notes

These are my 4 basic goals for the next period: if i'll play say about 1 hour a day, 6 days in a week, how long will this take me to get these things done? (based on person who would learn moderately fast the grasps of these things)

And here would be my schedule for next week:

Monday:

- learning notes (15 min)
- C major chord (15min)
- D7 chord (15 min)
- switching C & D7 (15 min)
- First song: question; which easy song is based on a C major chord? (15min)

Tuesday:

- learning notes (15min)
- C Major chord (15min)
- D7 chord (15min)
- switching c & D7 (15min)
- Again First song (15min)

Wednesday:

- learning notes (15min)
- learning C Maj & D7 chords (15min)
- switching C&D7 (15min)
- Again First song (15min)