Group Lessons ?

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Greetings all,

I'm yet another 38-year old beginner - well, actually I'm not a true beginner, having taken a year or so of classical guitar lessons when I was 10, played in a punk band in high school, and then did a semester of intro guitar in college. So here I am picking it up for the fourth time and feeling pretty good about it - it's amazing how quickly the basics come back to you.

I like finding tabs of some favorite songs and trying to bash them out. (I play a cheap Epiphone nylon-stringed classical and an Ibanez semi-hollow electric through a Line 6 amp, mainly on the "chunky" channel.)

But I have almost no understanding of music theory and can read only basic notation. I am considering a weekly "group lesson" for adult beginners given at a local school. Unfortunately there is no way to contact the instructor beforehand (the class is coordinated by the county parks service, not the actual instructor) and I'm concerned that it will be too basic. Does anyone have experience with these types of lessons? Are they geared to true beginners, or might there be opportunity to customize the lessons a little bit to someone with just a pinch more experience? Any comments, positive or negative, would be appreciated.

Cheers,

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

(@j-rock)
Estimable Member

I started playing about 3 months ago. I learned most of the chords I needed from this web site. Then I learned a few songs from this web site. I looked into private lessons but they were way too expensive. When I looked into group lessons there were 3 to choose from - first step, the next step and intermediate. The description for first step was tuning the guitar, how a guitar is constructed, basic theory and some simple songs. The next step was for people who new some chords but wanted to learn a little more. And I'm no sure about intermediate.