Clear all

Guitar balance

7 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 Arue
(@arue)
Topic starter  

I am an utter newb, and I'm having some trouble balancing my guitar on my right knee in such a way that it's stable. If I sort of fold my elbow over it, then the neck seems too low, and my hand feels like it's too far to the back edge of the soundhole. Is there something obvious that I'm missing? I've taken a picture with my webcam:

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

Consider the sitting positions in this article:
http://guitarprinciples.com/Guitar_Technique/sitting.htm

Also standing positions:
http://guitarprinciples.com/Guitar_Technique/elec_stand.htm

Hope that helps!

P.S. Welcome to GN!

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

i probably don't do it right but this is what i do: i sit with my legs crossed and my left on top. i have the guitar against my left leg, not my right. i also at some point figured that my guitar was too big and eventually got a smaller guitar.

ReplyQuote
(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

i have a smaller guitar, but here's where it rests on my leg

and here's where my hand sits in relation to the soundhole

and this is my smiling face

ReplyQuote
(@doc-gliss)
Eminent Member

Hi Arue. As the link above suggests, it may help to elevate your foot a bit so that your leg helps to hold the guitar in place instead of allowing it to slide down your thigh towards your knee. (Be grateful you aren't trying to do this with an Ovation roundback!) Then you can allow the guitar body to fall against you and you can relax your strumming arm.

And then you can concentrate on using that arm for playing and for positioning your hand where you want it rather than holding your guitar in place. Your strumming hand should be free to move up and down the strings - closer to the bridge gives a brighter tone while more directly over the sound hole gives a darker, thicker tone.