Guitar Lessons

12 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@bdkauff)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone,
I'm a college student and I'm looking for guitar lessons (real ones, not online!) in the Chicagoland area. Does anyone have any good recommendations for a good teacher? I know this isn't exactly the place to search for such a thing, but I figured these forums would have a lot of collective experience with teachers!

Best,
BK

(@yashicamat)
Reputable Member

I'm not sure if this is any help, but what I did is go into the local music shop and ask them. Of course, there is a possibility that they may have a deal going with a teacher (send me students and I'll send them to your shop kind of thing) but I would have thought any reccomendation would have to have reasonable grounds otherwise it doesn't look good for the shop.

Hope this helps. :)

Rob

If something's not worth doing it's worth forgetting about.
Epiphone Les Paul Std - Yamaha Pacifica 112XJ - Takamine EG340SC - Taylor Baby - Grainger Hammerhead 50 - Grainger Valve Five
http://www.youtube.com/yashicamatonline

ReplyQuote
(@bdkauff)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Did you have any luck with this method? Find a good teacher?

ReplyQuote
(@yashicamat)
Reputable Member

I'm still with the same teacher 7 months on. :lol:

Rob

If something's not worth doing it's worth forgetting about.
Epiphone Les Paul Std - Yamaha Pacifica 112XJ - Takamine EG340SC - Taylor Baby - Grainger Hammerhead 50 - Grainger Valve Five
http://www.youtube.com/yashicamatonline

ReplyQuote
(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

there's a person here, calls hisself NoteBoat. I believe he's in the Chicago area and he gives lessons.

ReplyQuote
(@boxboy)
Noble Member

+1 for Noteboat.
If I lived anywhere near the Chicago area, he'd be my choice for a teacher.
One of the finest GN posters ever, imho.
:)

Don

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

+1 for Noteboat.

One of the finest GN posters ever, imho.
:)
Well put. I'd jump all over the opportunity too.