Clear all

Help! My wrist

22 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@snoogans775)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I am self-taught, though I have learned to keep my wrists straight from friends when I was a beginner, and I have recently corrected my typing form, but today, as I put down my guitar after about 30 minutes of practice, I felt a sharp pain in my right wrist for about 2 seconds! Should I start taking lessons, or is this not a big deal?

I don't follow my dreams, I just ask em' where they're going and catch up with them later.
-Mitch Hedburg
Did you see that!

Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

I'd say (And most will I believe) take a break from the guitar for a while, maybe a day or two. If the pain continues, see a doctor.

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
 bltc
(@bltc)
Trusted Member

No worries man, this happened to me before and the only thing that I can suggest you do is to:

1.) take a break.
2.) massage with muscl cream
3.) cut it off (it'll grow back :wink: )

ReplyQuote
(@snoogans775)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

takin two days off sounds jsut as painful
I'm gonna be one colicky little punk for awhile :D - :evil:

I don't follow my dreams, I just ask em' where they're going and catch up with them later.
-Mitch Hedburg
Did you see that!

ReplyQuote
 Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

Try to play something easy. If it still hurts, THEN take a day or two off.

I'm not saying play through it but, (as I know) sometimes bending/leaning the wrong way causes pain. It's called getting older. And I'm considered YOUNG! :shock:

ReplyQuote
(@snoogans775)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

and I'm only 17, I better start cutting records before I go senile! :D

-Mitch Hedburg
Did you see that!

ReplyQuote
(@sinister_hack)
Eminent Member