Im a lost Beginner

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@samurai99)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi Guys,
Ive had an Electric Washburn for about 20 days and Ive managed to learn a few very basic chords like E, Em, G, D, C, A and Am But the probelem is that I need time to switch between the chords and I was wondering how I could increase my fretting speed. Im also lost apart from trying out some tunes like 007 and MI i dont know what to do next should I learn more chords?or songs?or stuf flike hammer ons, pull offs?

Please help
Thanks in Advance.

(@pearlthekat)
Noble Member

if you've learned all those chords by yourself then your doing good. it's true that you need time to switch betwen chords so that's what you need to practice. you can either pick chords and sit there an learn to change chords or you can pick simple, slow songs and learn it that way. the beginners songs section has songs there with instruction or you can peruse the easy songs forum and get some ideas there. techniques like hammer ons and pull offs will come in time.

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Take a look at Improving Your Chord Changes.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@artguitarhendsbee)
Estimable Member

those are alot of chrods for a beginner i sure diddnt know all those, ^^^^ what he said is perfect jsut sit down with the chrods you know and play through them, the more practice you give it the better you will get.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

More chords.....yes
More songs......yes
Hammer ons and pull offs...........yes

In short.......try everything!

If you're playing electric then I suggest trying out a few simple powerchords such as

--x---
--x---
--7---
--7---
--5---
--x---

and

--x---
--x---
--x---
--7---
--7---
--5---

As a lot of music can be played with only these types of chords (bands like Offsping, Sum41, Greenday and Blink 182).