Clear all

Is a thumb pick right for me? I need a good way to strum

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@pilot7)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for 4 months now and I'm pretty good at playing with my fingers, and only my fingers (and thumb). I can strum with my thumb (whichs feels very natural to me), but here lies my problem. If I strum a lot I tear my thumb up really bad. I can't use a flat pick at all, and if I could I still wouldn't want to because I like being able to feel the strings with my fingers and feel I have more control with all 5 fingers than I could ever achieve with a flat pick. I bought a thumb pick yesterday with the hopes I could still play like I normally do, and have a pick attached to my thumb for strumming. It's giving me some trouble since it's different, but I'm doing ok with it. I like the fact that it leaves all my fingers free to play.

So the question is, should I just bear the pain of thumb strumming (which feels the most natural to me), should I learn to use a flat pick, which in my opinion occupies fingers that could be doing something else, or should I master the thumb pick so I can play similiar to how I have been, and have a pick to strum with? I think I could get the thumb pick down fairly quickly if I tried, but is this the best path? Remember, I'm a finger picker, I hate picks, the only reason I want a pick is so I can strum without tearing my thumb up.

I had a nice callus on my thumb for about a week that let me strum gently, but it tore off yesterday and made my thumb really tender (which is why i decided to try out a thumb pick)

I had an idea of putting a little balloon over my thumb as a protector, which worked fairly well, except it made everything sound muted.

Should I try putting "New Skin" on my thumb as a protector? (New Skin is "liquid bandage" stuff (basically clear nail polish)

Anyway, should I bear the pain of thumb strumming, master a thumb pick, or learn to use a flat pick *grits teeth*