Clear all

locking tremelo??

26 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Well i bought a new guitar, it felt great, has 5 pickups plus coil tap, and i think it sounded great - so i bought i happily.

on reading interent reviews people have said it is very hard to keep in tune because of the tremelo - and that it needs "locking".

i have no idea what this means - i believe it is something to do with a whammy bar - which i never ever use (i dont even own one). Do i need to worry about "locking my tremelo"?? :shock:

just in case you wondered, its a cort x-6

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@shredd-ed)

Hi Almann,

When they say locking it, I suspect they mean across the strings at the headstock, not down at the tremelo.
Chances are that the guitar you have has some poor quality tuning heads which slacken off with excessive vibrato playing.

If you're not using the tremelo then you'll probably be ok anyway. However, if is is a problem, then you can have a "locking bar" fitted at the headstock. This clamps all the strings down before the tuning heads. This means the strings are fixed at the bridge (at the tremelo) and then at the top. This makes it very difficult for the strings to slacken and go out of tune.

Cheers,

Ed

Every time I pick up my guitar, 4 hours of my life just disappears.

It's like being abducted by aliens, but in a good way... :o)

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks - si in short, unless i decide to use a tremelo, i need not worry?

sounds good to me - thanks

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member