Skip to content
My Top 2 strings (l...

Notifications
Clear all

My Top 2 strings (low E and A) buzz, how do I fix it?

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@pilot7)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

My guitar has low string action which makes it easy to play and I like it a lot. But I just discovered my first problem. The top two strings (low e and a) buzz slightly if played very hard. Can I fix this by adjusting the bow of the neck slgihtly? How can I fix it? They just barely do it.

It doesn't butzz when I play opens strings and the buzz basically goes away when I get down to fret 7.

(@sagaciouskjb2)
Estimable Member

I'm not an expert in this area at all, but if you googled a search on how to adjust the action, you might be able to find what you're looking for.

On my guitar, I can also raise the bridge on the left or right side induvidually. You might try raising the side that the strings that are causing problems rest on slightly higher.

I hate fretbuzz, man. I have to raise my guitar's bridge so high to eliminate it that playing anything below the 12 fret becomes incredible difficult as the strings are so high. The neck of my guitar is also a bolt on, so there's not much else I can do about it.

ReplyQuote
(@slothrob)
Reputable Member

Pilot7,
This may sound like a joke, but, seriously, if it only buzzes when you strum very hard, then don't strum so hard. Electric guitars have a lot of amplification and you can actually get some better sounds with a little subtlety with the picking hand.
Any guitar with low action can be made to buzz if you hit the strings hard enough or at the wrong angle, it's simple physics. This is aggrevated on the E and A strings because they take the brunt of the attack.