Clear all

Need advice

11 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@greg232)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I currently have both an acoustic and an electric guitar. One is a Taylor 110 and the other is a Schecter Blackjack with a Vox AD30 amp. One which I received as a gift and the other a hand me done from a friend. I am brand new to guitar. I started playing last year and stopped after a few months. I am currently seeking an instructor and will be starting lessons next week. All of the instructors which I spoke to says it is my choice to either start on electric or acoustic. My music tastes vary so much, I love the sound of both so it is difficult to choose. I have read that it is better to start on acoustic but, I have a 2 years old who goes to bed early and will be practicing after he's sleeping. Since I live in an apartment complex I thought that the electric either unplugged or with headphones would be better. I know this is a controversial issue and wanted to know was it easier to go from acoustic to electric or electric to acoustic in your opinion. Too many guitars don't know which one to start with. I wish I had only one.

Greg

(@landog)
Eminent Member

Hi Greg,

I just started a little over a month ago and have some of the same issues. In my whole month of experience, I've found that practicing on the acoustic built up callouses faster, and when I go to play on the electric it's a lot easier.

My wife goes to bed fairly early because she has to get up around 4 am. So when she goes to bed and I want to practice I turn on the electric and put the headphones on.

If I'm not mistaken, your VOX should have a headphone jack in the back.

Cheers,
Landog

ReplyQuote
(@gotdeeblues)
Eminent Member