Notifications
Clear all

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@greg232)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I just started playing guitar about 3 weeks ago. I have a Takamine GS330S acoustic gutiar and a friend of mine just leant me a Fender Standard Stratocaster Mexican made electric guitar with a Guitar Research 30W amp. I like the sound of the acoustic but really want to learn how to play the electric. I have been taking lessons learning the basic chords. My question is the electric to me is harder to distinguish the chords I am playing. The all sound somewhat similiar. Is the amp poor? Should I just stick to the acoustic and scrap the idea of learning to play the electric? Are the practice amps with just the headphones and battery better than this amp?

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

welcome to these wonderful site of GN and its forums...

You are playing an acoustic.Good going.Don't reserve yourself to acoustic only.Play the electric too.Try to play it clean first.Never crank the distortion or overdrive or all the electric features hibachi :lol: that comes associated with an elec and amps..

play it clean.electric and yours is a very good guitar (and on my covet list ) , damn its a fender strat....so like play it..

try to have a teacher give you some lessons too.And morever playing acoustic or electric is more of your musical taste.IF you are into country songs or into artists like simon and garfunkle , even backstreet boys .. acoustic is the real deal.But tell you what , most of the songs today contain both elec as well as acoustic in them.

My opinion - learn them both , there is hardly any difference ,and as far as ease and comfort of play is there , the fender takes the points.Just hide your effects processor for a while...:wink:

Rahul

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

Yes, play it clean and see if you're able to hear better what you're playing.

Welcome to the musical madhouse!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.