Notifications
Clear all

newbie saying hi with a question...

17 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@xxrhixx)
Topic starter  

well im a newbie so i guess i should start by saying hi all! i only got my guitar about 2 weeks ago and i cant afford lessons yet (ah, the joys of a part time job in kfc :( :oops: ) so im teaching myself and i stumbled across this magical site, which has been such a good help! iv learned a few chords (A Am Bm C D E Em G) was just wondering if you knew of any popular songs that i may have heard of (only 15 so may not know some older stuff) that i could learn playing and put these chords into practice?

any help is appreciated!

rhi

(@anonymous)
Illustrious Member

Hey xxrhixx, Welcome to Guitar Noise.
Try some of the beginners song lessons on the main site and have a look through the Easy Song Database forum section.

ReplyQuote
(@rejectedagain)
Estimable Member

Time of Your Life by Green Day everyone knows that song. for the verse it is G G C D with a D, D, U, U, D U for each chord, then the pre-chorus or whatever you want to call it.. well hang on i'll do it like this:

G G C D INTRO
G G C D /

G G
Another turning point,
C D
A fork stuck in the road,
G G
Time grabs you by the wrist,
C D
Directs you where to go,
Em D
So make the best of this test,
C G
And don't ask why,
Em D
It's not a question,
C G
But a lesson learned in time...

Em G
It's something unpredictable,
Em G
But in the end is right,
Em D G
I hope you had the time of your life...

Then you just do that same stuff for the verse and you do the G G C D chord progression twice going into the second verse, its pretty simple the first song i learned. actually the first verse and chorus are picking but that's a little difficult for a beginner. Then for the little interlude he plays after the second chorus you just play the G G C D chord progression about 4 times, and that's about it. good luck, you won't regret picking a guitar up at least i don't. :D