Notifications
Clear all

Novice needs advice

13 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@viva1time)
Topic starter  

Hi, I would like to get your input on what direction I should take with my lessons. I started playing about 2 years ago, first teaching myself through various methods, and started taking lessons about 7 monthes ago. I'm 40 with not a lot of free time. I just want to play the guitar for fun and relaxation. Currently my teacher and i are mostly working on note reading. we are on the fith string. I'm having a lot of problems staying motivated. We have worked on a few easy songs, " boulevard of broken dreams", ect. Which has been a lot of fun.
My question is should I abandon learning to read music and ask her to stick with learning through songs. Its like i'm really excited to learn more chords, getting my changes faster, strum patterns, barre chords, arpeggio picking, ect., but I'm spending all my time learing note reading , which is difficult for me. I'd like to get your input.
Thanks.

(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

While it is certainly a good thing to learn to read music, if this is just a hobby for you, then why not spend most of your limited guitar time enjoying what you are doing? I say, ask her to spend more time with songs, if that is what you like.

ReplyQuote
(@rahul)
Famed Member

Note reading is fine. But don't spend all your time in it. The real purpose of creation of guitar is for sheer enjoyment. So you can tell your teacher your priorities straight.

I will recommend you this great self to learn series (for learning the rudiments and techniques faster) which you can do secretively besides learning whatever your teacher is telling you. Don't tell her know that you are on Guitarnoise. :wink:

And, by the way, Boulevard of Broken Dreams is an awesome song for making those open chord changes. It sounds very nice also.