Notifications
Clear all

Pain in the fret hand

15 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@chamby_x)
Topic starter  

Hey, I just got a guitar as a graduation gift in June, I'd been interested in trying it for a while but before that had no experience. Since then I've been teaching myself stuff off the web, and just lately started working with a teacher, but I've only had two lessons so far. Total newb, right here.

My question is about this pain in my fret hand (and lower arm) I frequently get after playing. I know that there is going to be some discomfort with my arms and hands getting used to holding a guitar, but I don't think this is natural discomfort.

What it is (and I don't feel it when playing, usually not until a good while after), is a tightness in my hand, usually starting near or behind the thumb, running down the wrist. It's something I'll feel if I stretch my arm out, or clench my fist. Usually what happens is I'll feel the pain, get frustrated and not play for a couple days till it fades off, then play again.

I think part of the problem could be in my holding of the neck, as I had been prone to gripping the back like a baseball bat (which I've learned is incorrect). I've corrected that, but only recently, so I'm not yet sure if it's solved the problem.

I've never experienced anything like it on my strumming hand. That ones fine.

I'm just wondering if this is anything that anyone else has experienced when they're starting out and can advise me on what is most likely causing it, and how to fix it.

Thanks,
Jay

Willow- Don't you have any ambitions?
Oz- Sure. E-flat diminish 9th.
Willow- Huh?
Oz- The E-flat, it's doable, but that diminish 9th...it's a man's chord. You could lose a finger.
-Buffy the Vampire Slayer

(@Anonymous)