Clear all

Plateauing of progress

12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@jock-strummer)
Topic starter  

Hello there.
First post for myself. I have been playing for about 18 months - self-taught and at a stage where I can bang out the chords to about 60-70 songs but finding I lack finesse and don't think my technique is progressing any. I am reasonably musical and intuitive when I learn/play but this only gets me so far. Thanks to David Hodge's lessons I have picked things up here and there but I find I am indisciplined and not knowing what to do next to improve my playing other than learn yet another new song.

Should I get private lessons? Is guitarnoise.com adequate for all my learning needs? Should I be doing scales and buying books to practice from?

All suggestions welcomed.

BTW - is there any place where people send in their acoustic musings to listen/be listened to??

lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

Hi there - just wanted to say welcome aboard. Don't know how to progress myself so you shouldn't be listening to me ;) Check out the Hear Here forum over there :arrow: for posting your recordings.

Good luck

Lars

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

ReplyQuote
(@bennett)
Reputable Member

Hey mate! Welcome aboard!

As Larsko mentioned, check out the Hear here forum for posting recordings.

As for plateauing, I've only been playing for 6 months or so and have only had one plateau during that time. What helped me was simply trying something different.

So my suggestion would be to do just that. If you've been teaching yourself for 18 months maybe check out a teacher (something I should really do too at some stage). Or maybe try some books if you haven't gone down that path before.

There is a wealth of info here at GN too so by simply joining us here you might find that in itself gets you up the next incline.

Good luck. 8)

From little things big things grow - Paul Kelly

ReplyQuote
(@nicktorres)