16 Users
0 Likes
(@mikehull)
Estimable Member

I wish I had the option LOL

ReplyQuote
(@combs)
Eminent Member

Well this is my first post, so I hope I get it right. I started learning about 5-months ago, although I have had a guitar for 30 odd years and sort of picked it up occassionally. I just didn't know what to do, even though I brought a starter book. Then I found this site and it has made all the difference. I also have just finished a term of lessons, which I was inspired to do (thanks David).

On the question of the thumb I am totally confused. I asked my teacher about this and he said to do what was comfortable, so I found resting the neck in the web of my hand with the thumb basically resting on the top was the go. This has worked OK, but I do have to be careful not to muffle high E with my palm. I can even play F#m chord this way, although it is not as clean as it could be. I am now try to learn F chord and I find that I really have to have my thumb on the back of the neck to do this. This means I have to adjust my hand from one style to the other on each change. This is bound to interupt the flow as I want to get faster.

So.. Rather than go on developing bad habits and risk sore joints and such, what do I do? Do I redevelop my technique so that my thumb is normally on the back of the neck?

By the way, I play (well try to) an electric guitar and like to play songs like Country Roads and Dylan's If not for you (palm muting - not sliding).

Life really is too short

Keith

ReplyQuote
(@kevin72790)
Prominent Member

I am now try to learn F chord and I find that I really have to have my thumb on the back of the neck to do this. This means I have to adjust my hand from one style to the other on each change. This is bound to interupt the flow as I want to get faster.
To play an F chord Hendrix style with the thumb over the neck do this-

1x321x