Clear all

Please allow me to introduce myself...

9 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@axeslasher)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Now that I've made over 25 posts and the regulars here are asking "Who the he-- is this guy?" I figured it's time to say "Hello".

I'm a 25-year old manufacturing automation engineer from Columbus, Ohio.

I've been playing the guitar for around 13 years. I started with an old Kay electracoustic that was bought for $10.00 at a yard sale. It needed about $30 worth of restoration (a new bridge and strings, that's about all) and a beginner's VHS that showed some chord structures and changes but not much else.

For my 15th birthday, my dad bought me a Washburn G-5V electric, a Kustom 10-watt amp, and a hard case. Thinking nothing of it, I proceeded to put stickers all over the hard case only to find out 5 years later that it was one of the first hard cases ever made specifically for a Fender Stratocaster. How did I discover that? I happened to be in a music store and the manager told me "Hey, can I buy that from you for $20 plus I'll give you a brand new hard case!" Of course, I couldn't pass that up. I wish I did, now.

Anyway, I ripped the Washburn apart once the active pickups quit working. I was going to restore it with new components. I bought some S.D. pickups, a Jackson/Rose bridge. Never got the motivation to rebuild it and gave it all to my neighbor (also a guitar player).

My gear now consists of a B.C. Rich Virgin, Martin D-16 (custom with a cut-away and Trace-Elliot pickup/pre-amp). DOD GS-30 multi-effects processor, Crate G80XL amp, a Crate Vintage Club 50 amp, and a Casio CTK-711EX synth. for backing tracks and drum patterns.