Notifications
Clear all

Please let someone see this!!! SOS

14 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@snowman)
Topic starter  

Ok Im 15 years olda and I have procurred a guitar and started to try and learn to play on my own. For two months I have looked for a teacher and have been unsuccesful. I REALLY want to learn and I don't suppose I will give up till I do, but I thought It would be good to ask some proffessionals for some kind of advice.

Please help me!

(@invictious)
Eminent Member

Well I started learning guitar 1 month ago and 1 month till i am 15

I learnt to play by ear, because i have finished ALL grades including diploma of cello and piano

So it was a easy peasy job for me

It really helps to learn music theory

I find myself just practicing new songs, because i got hang of the scales and so on

Watch some videos of people playing guitar

My fav happens to be System of a Down

Just so long that Daron Malakian doesnt get to crazy and starts lying on the floor and spins around (Psycho Big Day Out MV)

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

Snowman,

You've come to the right place. There are lots of beginners here at GN, and lots of very skilled guitarists who are willing to share their expertise. (I'm of the beginner variety.)

Stick to it! Practice, practice, practice. And keep looking for a teacher--eventually you'll find someone. Have you asked the music teachers at your local high schools/universities if they know of any guitar teachers? If you have a college nearby, you might find a college student who would like a little extra income giving you a lesson a couple of times a month. If you got your guitar at a music shop, maybe they will know of someone, or if you have any music or entertainment-related newspapers, you might find a teacher by scouring the classified ads.

Of course, as a mom, I am compelled to say "Be sure to get your parents' approval before contacting anyone" :)

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me