Skip to content
Power chords--any t...

Notifications
Clear all

Power chords--any trick, or just need more hand strength?

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@jester)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Raw beginner here. I have great difficulty playing power chords, those with the shape:

--------------------
--------------------
-----------5--------
-----------5--------
-----------3--------

I'm fretting these with index, ring, and pinky fingers. It's very hard to get my hand in this position and get everything to ring clearly. Certainly I can't move quickly around the fretboard like this--I have to carefully place each finger and force them into place.

Is there any trick to this (like the F-chord trick of using the _side_ of your finger to barre the B and e string, which someone posted recently--this was great!)? Or is it just something I have to work at until I get the finger strength and flexibility to do it better?

Mike
(@mike)
Famed Member

I use two fingers, index and ring.

Yes, it does take a little practice to get down (power chords that is) but, the faster you play them the more tired your hand will get. Pratice + time = results

Stay at it.

ReplyQuote
(@jester)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Do you mean that you use your ring finger to barre the two strings? Or that you play a two-note (rather than three-note) power chord, as I saw in another discussion here?

ReplyQuote
(@dcarroll)
Reputable Member

I would use my index, ring and pinky for that chord.

If you move that chord down a string so that the root is on the A string, you can rest the middle finger on the e string to mute it.

Just keep trying it, soon you'll have the strenght to play those chords all day long.

I've been imitated so well I've heard people copy my mistakes.
- Jimi Hendrix

ReplyQuote
(@paul-donnelly)
Noble Member