Clear all

practicing tips please?

9 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@macguy787)
Topic starter  

Hello,
I just started playing guitar over the past 6 months. Prior to that, I've played the piano for 10+ years however that was in my youth. I'm now 30 and haven't re-visited music for about 10 years.

When I'm learning the guitar, should I stick with tabs? Should I learn to read music? (Please don't say both) My saving grace is that I can still count and understand time signatures.

As for technique such as scales, do I learn the 'pattern' or the notes?

Keep in mind that I'm a beginner =) Thanks for any advice.

Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

Hi macguy!

As you have played piano for more than 10 years you will know lots of music theory so I think you should try to get the guitar technique. You already read music (or you did it) so keep practicing it. The tablatures are much easier to read, you only will get used to the "sixth" line.

Did you read the lessons in the web site? There are very good ones that explain guitar concepts for people that know about music. The songs for beginners are also a great source of knowledge because they mix a lot of different things like strumming, chords, theory, etc.

Welcome to GN! :D

ReplyQuote
(@macguy787)
Topic starter  

Hi, thanks for the reply...

So I should learn to read music instead of tab with my background? I totally agree that tab is much easier.

I have a couple more questions on technique and theory...

So I've learned the maj, min pentatonic shapes and blues as well but is learning the "pattern" enough? Being new, I still don't know exactly what notes I'm playing, I just know where the root is and have yet to spend the time to figure out all the notes on the neck. Is this going to come back and bite me in the a$$?