Clear all

Questions about scales

9 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@srpntmage)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm pretty new to this, and I need some explanation. What are scales used for? I keep hearing about the Pentamic scale and how it is used in rock music a lot. I have also been hearing it is useful to know them when trying to improvise. Is this true, and is that their only use? Thanks

(@goodvichunting)
Reputable Member

My Fav
https://www.guitarnoise.com/author/jamieandreas/

Dave Hodge has also written a number of excellent articles on scales.
Check em out.

Cheers

Latest addition: Cover of "Don't Panic" by Coldplay
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=502670

ReplyQuote
(@jonnyt)
Reputable Member

"Everybody solo!"

To put it simply, every solo you have ever heard is based on some sort of scale. Learn the notes in the chords being played and the notes in your scale, and you can make a quick jump forward in your improvising... but it takes time and lots of practice.

Guitar Noise Member Noteboat stated it best...

IMPROVISING TIPS:

Scales by themselves won't sound cool - it's what you do with them that matters... and you can use any scale to make a cool solo. The most common scales will be the pentatonics and the blues scale for rock soloing, followed by the major and harmonic minor scales.

In any scale, you'll have a few tones that sound really, really solid against the chord, one or two others that sound weaker but still ok, and the remaining two or three that don't sound terrible, but they don't sound great (I'm talking about one note held over the chord here). They're all important in building solos.