Notifications
Clear all

Restring Floyd Rose

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@judasiscariot)
Topic starter  

So I have an ESP LTD with a Floyd Rose locking tremolo system. I've restrung acoustics and regular electrics in the past, but this is my first attempt at restringing my ESP. I went through and replaced each string one at a time, but now that I have reached the 6th string the floating bridge is being pulled up by the string tension. I don't know if I somehow managed to throwoff the spring tension even though I went one by one. Now it's so high up that some of the strings buzz and it's impossible to keep in tune even after locking the top nuts. Am I gonna need to add extra springs to make up for the heavier gauge I'm using? Please help me =(

(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

I've got one of those too. Pain in the butt they are. Yes, heavier guage strings will have an effect. If you look at the springs, there are two screws near the top of the springs that will tighten the tension of your existing springs. I'd try that first. I went from 9s to 10s eithout adding a spring on an Ibanez I had. I'm pretty sure I went a full turn on each screw too, but I can't recall for sure. Might have been more.

So, just in case you don't know the tricks of tuning a Floyd Rose, what I would do to tune is this:

1: loosen the locks up top.
2: loosen the little tuners at the bottom to about 75% out.
3: loosen the string tension little by little on each string until the bridge looks like it's way too low, but there is still a little tension on all of the strings.
4: At that point, tune the low-E (fat string) to about .75 sharp. Do the same for the high-E. Use the regular tuners.
5: Next, tune the B and A strings about .33 sharp.
6: Then tune to pitch the D ang G strings.
7: Tighten the hell out of the three locks up top.