Notifications
Clear all

Serious question need opinions.

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@ironfret)
Topic starter  

I've bought the ESP LTD F 10, is this a bad buy for a beginner but plans to use this as his sole guitar?

I've looked at other threads and have been infromed even for the beginner it's a bad buy, but they've used a price that was way more expensive for what I've bought it for. Also can't I just simply change the pickups and strings as well invest in a better amp to make this guitar truly roar? I just want help.

Is a proud Mexican-Texan. -Ironfret

(@alangreen)

Hi, Ironfret, and welcome to Guitarnoise.

When you're an absolute beginner, there is actually very little between guitars - they're all going to make your fingers hurt, they're all complicated to get your head around, you can play individual notes in any number of different places on the fretboard and you wonder if you're ever going to crack it. And then someone tells you about barre chords.

Yes, you can change the strings - and should do regularly. You can change the pickups, although at around £90 each for big name ones like Bare Knuckle you might find that you're spending more on the upgrade than you did on your original kit, in which case you might want to spend the cash on a more upmarket guitar. You can change the setup of your guitar, although as a beginner you should let the shop do it for you. And yes, you can flash the cash on a new amp, and there are plenty of them in your local shop to try out.

At this point in time, it might look like you're going to use it as your sole guitar forever. In a couple of years time, however, you're going to have that much more experience and a different idea of what you want out of a guitar. Then you'll be down the shop trying out lots of different models. We call it GAS - Gear Aquisition Syndrome (or Guitar Acquisition Syndrome).