Notifications
Clear all

Strumming Woes..

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@frust-rated)
Topic starter  

I been playing guitar for about twenty years,but the most i know is three blind mice,if i remember it,,,,I recently picked it back up again (about two months now) with serious intentions of becoming pretty good,,Now i have been learning some Bowie not too good at that,, pinball wizard,,,hmmmsokay,,I would say maybe im an intermediate beginner if theres such a thing,,,,
PROBLEM....
When im strumming the high E string seems to twang more than I would like..i tried strumming with edge of my thumb sounds not tooo tooo bad,,back of my nail string gets louder obviously,,,Pick,,TWANG TWANG TWANG,,What can i do...
It seems like i cant get a handle on this never bothered me before but now its driving me nutzo,,Is there a certain way i should be strumming,,, like start the strum but dont go all the way through with it...But if i do that then i wont get the true chord sound .......THOUGHTS anyone :cry:
Thanx Steve...

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Hi Steve and welcome to Guitar Noise

First of all, it is very normal to have problems strumming guitar. Strumming is something that you think you will never get right, and then suddenly it seems like the easiest thing in the world. I think every player has trouble strumming at first.

As far as avoiding that high E string that is irritating you, try simply strumming all downstrokes at first. Try to get a nice even tone out of your strings.

When strumming you do not flail your hand around, it is really a very controlled thing. Keep your strumming hand close to the strings. It helps to gently rest the edge of your hand just behind the bridge. When you downstroke, try gently raking the pick over all the strings at first to get the feel.