Tabbing By Ear

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@dommy09)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi

I've been playing guitar for a few years now but always relied on online tabs and books to show me how to play stuff.
I would really love to get better at figuring out songs for myself just by listening to them, i think it would be a great way to improve (and to have fun!)

Are there any general tips for starting to do this? And are there any particular songs/styles that are easier than others for a beginner?

Thanks
Dom

"We all have always shared a common belief that music is meant to be played as loud as possible, really raw and raunchy, and I'll punch out anyone who doesn't like it the way I do." -Bon Scott

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

I never took lessons, although I did buy good books when I could find them, but I mostly learned how to play guitar from listening to records and the radio and copying what I heard. I got really good at it, and some people were amazed at how I could learn a song in just a few minutes from just listening to it. So, I think I was fortunate to have a good ear.

But I had a few tricks that used to help me. First, I always listened to the bass line. The bass guitar will almost always play the root notes for each chord. So this is a major help. Also, in most songs the first chord is also the key of the song. So if a song started with a G Major chord, it was most likely in the key of G. Somewhere along the line I found out that most songs are constructed of the three Major chords and the three Relative Minor chords.

So, in the key of C Major you have:

C, F, & G- the three Major chords
Am, Dm, Em (or E7)- the three Relative Minor chords

For other keys just transpose.