Notifications
Clear all

What are your musical aspirations?

29 Posts
23 Users
0 Likes
(@chalkoutline)
Estimable Member

I started playing when I was in high school and due to a serious lack of dedication I didnt follow through.

Now that my son is 16 and playing tuba in his high school symphonic band and bass in the school jazz band I see how much fun he is having and it inspired me to start again.

So I guess my aspirations are to be able to play and jam with my son. To be honest, not only has he been a great source of pride to me with his ablility he has been a great instructor in respect to musical theory.

Even though he has no training on the guitar he can grab it and show me things on scales, etc. to help me along.

Interview guy: What is the source of your feedback?
Neil Young: Volume.

ReplyQuote
(@ghost)
Prominent Member

My aspirations are easy enough. I want to be the first musician in my family. I've struggled for so long at wanting to learn, but just couldn't get myself to.
The past 3-4 years had been rough. My best friend passed away and I've spent most of my time lost. So I guess I'm also playing for him.

In the past 9 months since I started playing again things are beginning to come together, still struggle with music theory though. Guitar is one of the few things in life that I don't feel like a failure at and it makes me happy.

Now if I can find a job and a girlfriend that makes me as happy as playing the guitar, then I'll have it made.

"If I had a time machine, I'd go back and tell me to practise that bloody guitar!" -Vic Lewis

Everything is 42..... again.

ReplyQuote
(@gunslinger)
Reputable Member

Now if I can find a job and a girlfriend that makes me as happy as playing the guitar, then I'll have it made.

They are rare creatures.

Find one who's a musician (preferably not a great one, or this may not work). They're more forgiving of you ignoring them for a while when you're learning. :)