Clear all

What to do?!!!

20 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@ridgeskimmer)
Topic starter  

Hi All,
I have been playing for a few months now on my Yamaha Pacifica which I find nice and light and comfy to play. I love the Blues and some Rock stuff(AC/DC for my son!!) but mainly enjoy playing lead along with Blues backing tracks using the old minor pentatonic with which i've finally learned all the five positions!!! So I thought I would like to get a bit better guitar as a treat. All my life I have loved the look and sound of a Les Paul so I have just bought myself an '89 LP Custom(picture below) which looks stunning (and sounded great when an expert played it in the shop for me!)
Now the problem and reason for this post!
After playing it for a week or so now im finding it much harder to play than my Yamaha and finding it very heavy and therefore much more uncomfortable to the point that last night I put it away and got the Yamaha back out which felt great again!!
So the question is should I persiveer with the Gibson or exchange it for say a decent Fender Strat which will be closer to the comfort of my Yamaha or even stick with the Yamaha and keep the Gibson for when I get better?!!!
Probably not an easy question to answer but if anyone has any thoughts it may help me make my mind up!!
Thanks
Mike

(@doc-gliss)
Eminent Member

Gawd that's gorgeous; I can almost hear it resonate from here! If it's much harder to play, it might need a set-up, something a guitar shop can do for maybe 40 well-spent dollars. You might be amazed at the difference. The weight is something you just have to get used to should you decide to keep it (as I would definitely do), but a wide strap helps a lot.

Best wishes Mike!

Doc

If the dude woke up this mornin', he's playin'.

ReplyQuote
 lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

Hi - and welcome to GN
that is some axe!!

Just a few thoughts:
Setup: maybe the action is too high - lower action could mean easier to play