Notifications
Clear all

what type of acoustic

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@sliker92)
Topic starter  

what type of acoustic should i buy? I haven't played guitar before but I want to learn acoustic and I want a guitar that can last me for awhile even when I get better... any help?

(@j-rock)
Estimable Member

I just started playing a few months ago. I borrowed my uncle's classical ( nylon strings ) and even that was pretty hard on the fingers when I first started. Now that my fingers have started to callous up I'm looking at getting a steel string. I've tried a steel string a few times and I can see why there are so many posts on here complaining about sore fingers. Starting with nylon might be the way to go.

I can look back with a smile, knowing that my ambition far exceeded my talent.

ReplyQuote
(@joe-momma)
Trusted Member

It depends on what style you want to play, but dont worry about playing a steel strung guitar, plain just lets you know your alive.

ReplyQuote
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member

Sliker

Well, most people will tell you the same thing - if you're going to buy an accoustic, try and NOT buy a real beginners guitar. All too often these have laminated tops (get a solid top, definitely) and a really high action (this means you will have to press hard to get the strings down to the frets properly).

No one will recommend a brand as its personal thing. But look for -

Solid Top
Steel Strings (unless you really want to start on nylon, but most people go over to steel anyway eventually)
Low action

Most guitar shops treat beginners pretty well - they know that you are a potential source of income for the future. So get in there and ask their advice, based on my 3 criteria above.

I will break with tradition here and say that Yamaha make some excellent budget entry guitars that fulfil these criteria. Other makes are just as good, but Yamaha tend to have consistency.

Good luck and let us know what you end up buying eh?

Matt

ReplyQuote