Clear all

What's a self-taught guitarist?

14 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@tamuka)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I know it sounds like a silly question, but I've always been curious whenever I read that so and so is self taught. Obviously it means you haven't had a teacher/tutor, but does it apply if you've used books, or sites like this one? Or does it apply only if you picked up a guitar, messed around with it and mastered it with no help at all?

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

It simply means the obvious: no formal instruction/teacher -- books and anything else are usually fair game. But even the so-called "self taught" learn a lot informally from other players -- friends, jammers and similar. No one seems to count those "informal lessons" as no money exchanged hands. Go figure.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@teleplayer324)
Noble Member

people pick things up from books, other players, watching and listening to favorite players. I think the only way you are truly self taught is if you are straded on an island and a guitar washes up and you learn just for something to do.

Immature? Of course I'm immature Einstein, I'm 50 and in a Rock and ROll band.

New Band site http://www.myspace.com/guidedbymonkeys

ReplyQuote
(@undercat)
Prominent Member

No one seems to count those "informal lessons" as no money exchanged hands. Go figure.

"self-taught" - I hate that label. I've heard a few guitarists brag about how they were self taught, and then I ask where they learned such and such trick/lick/etc and they tell me about some friend of theirs who shepherded them through their first 6 mos of learning... um... hello! :roll:

Did you pick up a guitar with no one present and just start pressing on frets until the sound you wanted started coming out? No? Then you're not self taught.

Do something you love and you'll never work a day in your life...

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member