Clear all

When progress begins to slip....

12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@ldavis04)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

sorry for the long post....but I gotta get this out.....

I played guitar years ago (started when I was 14, played for about 2 years...then life took a wrong turn and I put it down, wish I never had.....) but have recently picked it up again (I am 43...so, it's really been years!). The only thing I was into long ago was playing songs...wasnt interested one bit in theory, learning scales, modes, progressions, etc. I started playing about 5 weeks ago...I picked up a couple of beginner computer programs (jamorama....I am half way through the intermediate book, and emedia guitar method for beginners...on lesson 87...), purchased several books (a fretboard workbook, Modern method for guitar books 1, 2 and 3, Notebooks (Tom Serbs) music theory for guitarists and another music theory for guitarist book). I have learned (not played them all mind you) the major and minor scales and how they work, how modes work and how to put them together, the circle of fifths, how key signatures work, how cords are constructed, standard notation symbology, note locations on the staff, have memorized all the notes on frets 1 - 8, and have read almost every article on this site. I have memorized lots of the basic open cords and barre cords...etc, etc....and have started taking lessons. Needless to say, I am driven to learn, and my motiviation for doing this is only that I love music and have wanted to play for years. I practice every night, and have really begun to put some good music together..but tonight I feel that I have hit a wall.....I cant hit one clear cord, cant strum evenly nor keep time, and the more i try, the worse it gets....and, the worse part of it is...I feel that I have let myself down because I didnt learn anything tonight.....am I being to hard on myself?????? I guess I just feel that I dont have as much time as I used to, so I gotta learn before I am to ol