beginner lesson. Leaving on a Jet Plane, John Denver

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Hello again gang!

There's been some great songs posted on here recently, particularly by Vic who seems to have gone Tab crazy (got to have something to replace the fags Vic…). A big thanks to everyone who's contributed so much. However a lot of the recent stuff isn't really aimed at beginners, so very much as David has gone back to basics with his recent lesson on the Beatles Eleanor Rigby, I have done much the same here with Peter Paul and Mary's version of John Denver's “Leaving on a Jet Plane”.

I have tried to give as many hints tips and pointers as I could and keep the chords nice and simple, while adding a few little things to spice it up in places.

I hope beginners use this as a springboard to greater things!

Timing / Strumming
If you are a total beginner, I suggest you use all downstrums “on the beat” to get the hang of the chord changes and where they take place. This song is a nice steady 4/4 time so in your head you should be counting –

ONE TWO THREE FOUR, ONE TWO THREE FOUR, ONE TWO THREE FOUR

So when I say “on the beat” play a downstrum every time you say a number!
When you are a bit more advanced you can try mixing up the strumming, a good starting pattern would be something like

1 down
+ miss (arm is coming back up for the next down)
2 down
+ miss (arm is coming back up for next down
3 down
+ up
4 down
+ up
Keep your arm moving nice and steadily, it shouldn't feel jerky or rushed, and on the u (upstrum) part, just lightly brush the treble strings (the thin ones!) on the way back up.

Song Structure
Basically its intro, verse, chorus, verse, chorus, verse, chorus/outro

So I am going to concentrate on the intro, first verse and chorus, if you can learn that much, the whole song's licked!