Clear all

best way to learn music theory?

24 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
11.7 K Views
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Most people get discouraged learning theory and scales because the system for teaching them is so cerebral that it takes to long to actually get playing. I've been teaching for over almost twenty years now and have found that by far, if I teach the students the visual and symmetrical patterns on the guitar first so they can use them and play even before they understand the theory behind it... then we work a bit at a time at the truth behind what they are playing.
You can get them playing by giving them tab - they don't even need to learn a scale. If you're going to teach them a scale, you've also got to let them understand that it has a relevance - and, by then, you're already teaching them theory. As far as I'm concerned the worst thing to do is to teach a rule and not explain (even a little of) the substance behind it. Leave it too long and the "parrot rule" is too deeply ingrained to allow the student to put the parts together.
I admit, I have a problem with modes and I shall revisit them one day. When I was learning what (little) I know about theory, I actually confronted modes from the other end that, I suspect, most people do. You can see my thought process here - I was actually trying to understand why a harmonised scale had maj, min, min, maj, maj, min, dim chords. For me, a Dorian mode, for example, is simply a minor scale, rooted on the second degree of another scale, with an augmented 6th. However, to approach modes from the box pattern side, leaves me in total bewilderment - how can I differentiate the Ionian from the Dorian, when I'm using the same basic pattern, just putting the root on a different place - I just find confusion. Giving them a box pattern for the Dorian and not explaining the relevance to the Ionian is not going to cut it either.