Clear all

Building an absolute newbie guitar program

17 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@corbind)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I think I have more questions for the forums than answers!  Ok, I'm thinking about teaching one or two people absolute beginning lessons in their homes in my area.  I live in a very small space so I'm willing to make the drive to their homes.

Anyway, I'm trying to put together some reasonable progression of what to each first, second, on and on.  Could some of you who have taught or have been taught toss some lesson plans down or at least sequence of learning?  That's a tall task but I want to make sure I instill positive growth in the couple of people I'll be teaching so that they get off to a great start.  Anyone want to share?  Thanks in advance!   ;D

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

jane
(@jane)
Trusted Member

Most people who are absolute beginners want to feel like they can play a simple song. At this site Horse With No Name is the simplest song. My teacher uses Eleanor Rigby. She picks simple songs that introduce a new chord or two into them on a gradual basis until you know all the basic chords, CAGED and a few others. My teacher uses a simple strum pattern, just UDUDUDUD, (not really a pattern), so you don't have to worry about strumming, just the chords and the changes.

formerly "new writer" until someone said they didn't like my name

ReplyQuote
(@rotten)
Eminent Member

Well im still a new player and a few things that discouraged me when i didnt know any thing were:
                  general guitar overveiw:what a bridge,nut, frets ect.. are.
                  general music definitions: differance between tabb and sheet music, and how to read them.