Clear all

Interesting open G7 "discovery"

11 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@corbind)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

There are certain chords I play infrequently either because they are not call for in the songs I read in books or I never really practiced nearly as much as others.  One of those is the G7.  Often I did not like moving my hand to play like this:

G7 (g-b-d-f)

1e: --1—(f)--index
2B: --0—(b)--
3G: --0—(g)--
4D: --0—(d)--
5A: --2—(b)--middle  
6E: --3—(g)--ring

only to move back to regular G:

G   (g-b-d)

1e: --3—(g)--pinky
5A: --2—(b)--index  
6E: --3—(g)--middle

Too much movement.  So I studied my notes on the fretboard and have "discovered" how to get around those big switches.  Since I've always played my open G with the pinky on the first string 3rd fret and frequently pop the D note second string third fret on and off for flavor my ring finger is free to do about anything.  I found out I could play a somewhat cheating G7 like this:

G   (g-b-no 5th-f)

4D: --3—(f)--ring
5A: --2—(b)--index  
6E: --3—(g)--middle

Yea, I effectively drop the 5th out of the chords but I won't cry.  We all cheat on the C7 also by dropping the 5th out on that one, too, by placing the pinky on the third string A#.

So I'm just happy that I have a way to quickly stab a finger on the F note to get a G7 and can move back to G simply by poping one finger off.  Does anyone else out there use that fingering?

"Nothing...can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts."

(@davidhodge)