Julia

18 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
17.9 K Views
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Check out David's lesson on Julia in Songs for Intermediates.

Julia

It's a beautiful song to play. Someday maybe I'll be able to play it without messing something up even!

But after you start to get the hang of it, it's a joy to play and it's a song you can get lost in when you play it. It's almost a meditation -- at least that how it strikes me.

Thanks for the lesson, David!

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

I just started learning this one. I think as long as you break it down into component pieces first it shouldn't be too hard. Nice lesson.

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Slow and easy is the trick, I think. (I started on this one when David told me he was planning it, so I've been doing the Travis picking from the scores. Fancy that, me doing Travis picking! Didn't think I could!).
I love letting the notes on it ring out. Learning it has increased my appreciation of Lennon as a songwriter (if that were even possible!)
Tim

-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@slydog)
Reputable Member

Just out of curiosity Tim, why didn't you think you'd be able to do Travis picking? I ask simply because I'm at the stage where there are loads of things I think I'll never be able to do. Hearing about someone else's success just may provide a little inspiration.

Blame it on the lies that killed us, blame it on the truth that ran us down.

ReplyQuote
(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Slydog,
Lack of confidence. (And I find fingerpicking intimidating because I'm all thumbs no fingers!)