Clear all

Beginner Songwriting Anxiety?

20 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
 Vee
(@vee)
Topic starter  

thank you all! I'm loving these posts :)

ReplyQuote
(@dragona43)
Eminent Member

I've had the exact problem, especially with one song in particular, I fixed it so much, I couldn't even remember what the heck it was about anymore, even looking at the original, and I've been so busy in school I haven't been on in almost a year, forgot my password and had to register again, but some really great things have happened while I was out, I took up the Viola again, got into VCC, my state's children's choir, and next year I plan on having my friend teach me some guitar, and I've had some amazing experiences in music. I've improved a lot in the past year and am gonna keep improving. There's some great advice on here, never give up! Sorry for writing a novel. :shock: Always,
ME

ie an'tce eakspe igpe atinle!!
the first legal high is spinning around!!

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Another piece of advice I can offer you.....

If you're unhappy with a finished song, don't just ditch it out of hand....you may decide to re-cycle it later, even cut-and-paste with another song - I've done that a few times.

Keep a notebook handy, write down the mood/emotion/message you're trying to express, how you were feeling at the time, what you WANTED to say...you may feel differently later and get a fresh slant on it.......

positive feedback is good, obviously - it makes you feel better about your song/self. But criticism - as long as it's constructive - can be very helpful. I've written stuff that seemed good to me, but when the flaws have been pointed out, I've thought, "Yeah, see what you mean"........

Above all, have faith in yourself.......if someone tells you something's not very good, and you know in your heart-of-hearts you've got something, BELIEVE IT!!!

So keep writing, you'll get there!

Good luck!

Vic.